Headaches and guards

Well, my cold is finally better.  At least I think it is.  Of course that hasn’t stopped the allergies from ruining my life but that’s nothing new since I moved back to Japan.  Of course, with my body if it’s not one thing it’s another and today was no exception.

I’ve been looking forward to getting back to ju jitsu all week.  Sadly, starting this weekend I’ve been having some horrible headaches on a daily basis.  It’s about 50% of what it was and ju jitsu starts in an hour; I’m planning on going.  I’m really not sure how it will go as my head is thumping quite badly.  Crossing fingers.

My guard game is by far the weakest area of my game.  To say my guard is poor is like saying George Lucas is a bad script writer.  Words can’t do it justice.  My current guard repertoire consists of the following 3 techniques:  1) watch the opponent pass with no effort at all, 2) hold on for dear life until I’m tired.  Back to #1, and 3) simply give up bottom side as it’s a “superior” position.  This also screws the rest of my game as I’m so afraid of losing a top position in fear of ending up in guard that I’m not aggressive at all going after submissions.  If I had a better guard I would venture out and go after more and more complex submissions.

Part of this is that I worked hard to develop a top game.  Also, I have horribly short legs for my height and naturally very tight hips.  This makes a lot of guard stuff difficult to pull off.  And I hate losing and/or being frustrated.  On a normal size person I don’t even have to put squeeze into finishing a triangle.  With the lengths of my legs just the natural position is already tight enough.

There is silver lining:  My escapes and survivability in bottom side is actually pretty remarkable.  This is also like saying my ability to get off the canvas after being knocked down is second to none.

I think all that changes this week.  I’m going to make a conscious effort to play guard as much as possible for the next 6 months.  Maybe longer.  This means pulling guard when I can, trying to regain guard when I can instead of going to turtle or somewhere else, and starting from guard when given the option.

My nose is completely clogged due to my non-stop allergies and my head is pounding but damnit I’m going to ju jitsu!  At the very least I’ll stop during training if I can’t take it anymore.

Leave a Reply

